Our shared journey continues

I have the same sense of time passing that a dog does. My focus is on the present, the moment that I’m swimming through right now. If you grill me on the date and the number of years since a specific event happened, I’m going to answer you with some head-scratching and confused looks. 

So it’s strange when I realize that a significant amount of time has passed since a life-changing event. 9 years ago, my lovely wife Kristen and I exchanged our vows and started our married life together, and I’m still thrilled to be with her when I wake up every morning.

Maintaining a partnership for any length of time is a challenge. Adapting to and weathering the storms of life puts any couple under a tremendous amount of stress: events like job changes, the birth of your child, the trials and tribulation of family drama are a lot for any 2 people to deal with.

A lot of people would buckle down, handle the changes life brings to you, and call that success. But not us. We decided to push a little farther and chase the potential of who we could be. I found a surprising passion for politics and civic engagement, along with a dream of writing my first novel. Kristen discovered a drive for competition and fitness, and a love of volunteering and community. We talked, we listened, we started chasing our dreams, and our partnership grew stronger.

We’ve experienced some wonderful and inspiring moments over the last 9 years, and I can’t wait for the next one, and a million more after that. I love you, Kristen. Happy Anniversary!

 

Leave a Reply

